In the past it had also been known as Visser’s Hoek and Viaggeklip Bastion. According to J.W. Heide, the Dutch flag had been hoisted here by 1733.
In Gems Cordine’s book Description of Ceylon, it is stated that in 1796 the British flag was hoisted here.
In 1848 the first lighthouse in the island of Sri Lanka had been constructed here. The light had been powered by kerosene oil and gas. In about 1930 it had been destroyed by fire.